Radiohead To Promote Album With New Year’s Eve Concert on Current TV



Radiohead will be broadcasting a commercial free, taped, private performance of In Rainbows in its entirety on New Year's Eve and New Year's Day on the Current TV network (hello Al Gore and thank you!). Current TV is a peer-to-peer, interactive network and independent media company that won an Emmy Award for its groundbreaking interactive programming.
Broadcast times for the concert are:
  • December 31, 2007: 9 p.m. PST / 12 a.m. EST , 10 p.m. PST / 1 a.m. EST
  • January 1, 2008: 5 a.m. PST / 8 a.m. EST, 6 p.m. PST / 9 p.m. EST
Last October, Radiohead released their seventh album "In Rainbows" as a digital download in in which buyers could name their price. To me, this signaled that the days were numbered for the record industry.

David Byrne interviewed Thom Yorke, Radiohead's lead singer, for Wired magazine. Them good old boys were drinkin' whiskey and rye and it was a fab read.

However, Byrne did another article for Wired, a companion piece to his interview with Yorke entitled "Survival Strategies for Emerging Artists — and Megastars" that I find to be more compelling. So did the NY Times citing that:
"By Mr. Byrne’s count, there are six major options for musicians, ranging from letting labels and industry pros take care of their business functions to going off the grid “where the artist does nearly everything.” The “totally D.I.Y. model is certainly not for everyone,” he wrote, “but that’s the point. Now there’s choice.”





Comments
See Older Posts...